major update and changes… a long read.. but do it..
ok… so now that we’ve had some time to figure out a good direction, and yes, we’ve been watching and taking notes about what people like to do on the server and how they interact with other people’s stuff and how they build. And, now that Bukkit appears to be in close lockstep with minecraft updates.
We can start putting more things in place. Mainly, allowing people to have “towns”, yeah, we’re going to put Towny in place. Also, we’ve noticed people are having a hard time of finding out “what do I do? How can I build, type of questions”. So we’re going to streamline that process, fewer rules, and let people, or teams of people moderator themselves. Going to setup a “PvP” area–not a big fan of this, but I guess people like to just have “battles”. This part will come a little later, we’ll add some stuff so you can have weapons, and protective options.
THIS IS THE IMPORTANT PART —- all the server maps will be reset—yes this means all new worlds. We will be removing all the worlds and starting from scratch. This is so we can get the new “biomes”. Some of the worlds have been around for 1.5 years and have been upgraded, but regions have not been regenerated to allow for the “new” stuff. SOOOO… this mean you will need to tell us if you have something you’d like to have saved. Now, here’s what this means, even if you tell us, we’ll evaluate what area needs to be saved, you will need to place a box around in the ground of the area you want to have saved, we have some guidelines that we’ll use just for that process. Basically, if you have an area that looks cool–to us, it’ll be saved. Just because you spent some time on it doesn’t mean anything to us, I know some people will get pissed that we didn’t save the one or two hours of work you did. It can be redone and be protected better later on. The reason we’ll be saving some of the things people have done is to show off in the new World.
You need to leave a comment to this article and tell us where your stuff is, if we do save your stuff, we’ll let you know in the game by leaving something unique that tells you we have saved it. If you add something after we have saved the item, we *might* save it again. But, it has to be something really cool that you did.
We’ll be doing this process over the next 30 or 40 days. This will give people time to tell use about what they want saved and for us to save it.
You’ll see notices on the server when you login telling you to visit the website and read this article.
As we get closer to the world reset, we’ll post notices when you login giving you more details. Once we reset the worlds, we’ll put the server in “whitelist” mode, this will give us time to get things set back up and do some testing.
Also, if you have been banned for any reason, this will all be reset, so you’ll be able to play again.